Road trip to Atlantic City, Virginia, & DC

Sorry I didn’t post for few days, as the title of this post suggests I was on a 4 day road trip to AC-VA-DC.

It was a fun trip to do but oh my god, was it tiring driving so much!  I started out by leaving NYC around 10am heading for Atlantic City.  Since I play a bit at Caesar’s properties, I was able to book a free night at Harrah’s.  Once I got there, I politely asked if there was a complimentary room upgrade and got it.

Room was pretty big and the shower was very spacious and it had a sitting area inside the shower.

After some gambling and winning, went to sleep for our next day drive to VA.

The drive was uneventful, nothing much to talk about.  It was just a long drive (at least for me it is) from AC.  It’s close to 4 hour drive.

I headed straight to George Washington’s estate.  I was expecting our founding father to own a fabulous huge house but I was a little bit let down.  But I guess considering that it was so long ago and on an average people barely had a home size 150 sq ft, it is considered grand.

I never knew that George Washington declined to run for Presidency for a 3rd term stating that he would become a King in this new country.  His decision paved the way we run our Presidency now by limiting the terms to maximum 8 years.  Interesting.  I was also very surprised that he thought farming was the most important thing to know.  In his house, he has decorated some of the walls and ceiling with farming tool accents.

Tomb of Washington

After learning about George Washington, I headed to my hotel, Sheraton Herndon Dulles to get some rest before driving to DC next day.  The rate I got was $54/night for a standard room.  I was upgraded to their Club Lounge floor since I have elite status with them.  The room decent size, clean,  and hotel staff was professional.  They also had a small pool which I didn’t take part in.   Obviously, what I really  like about this hotel is the price.  For $54, I got free FULL breakfast for two and evening snacks with drinks.  The breakfast consisted of sausages, scrambled eggs, toasts, cereal, orange/grape juice, yogurt, fruits, and something else.  I can’t remember right now. One thing I did find very unusual was that their Club Lounge was RIGHT outside of the elevator! (see picture below)

Well, I woke up next day dead tired and went to the Travel & Adventure Show where I heard Samantha Brown speak.  I don’t have many pictures of that day.  Well, that’s about it.  All in all, great tiring trip! In two weeks, I will be in DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival! More long driving!! YAY!! *sarcasm* =)

Leave a Reply

